Bring the Joy!

Some of my favourite things in Ramadan that bring me joy:
– The peaceful silence when we wake up for suhoor.
– Seeing the sleepy faces of my family members!
– That first pang of hunger of the day, reminding me that I am fasting and the chance to remember that if I can give up food for God, I can also give up bad habits inshaAllah.
– Hearing the azan for maghrib and making du’a, knowing fully that He will not say no as Prophet Muhammad sallallahu alaihi wasallam promised, ‘Whatever is prayed for at the time of breaking the fast is granted and never refused.’ WOOOOOHOOOO!
– Hearing my father’s wooden prayer beads clicking when it hits each other when he makes the rounds, knowing that even if I’m not actively remembering Allah, someone in my household is
– That deep joy in the conviction that angels are surrounding me.
– Feeling my knees hurt a little bit when I get up from sujud (hey, no judging! Even the knees of a sprightly 30+ year old like me can hurt doing 20-rakaat tarawih)

Sincerely,
@ameeraaslamwrites

Leave a comment